fbpx
Fri. Jun 14th, 2024
Funny man David Letterman has been married twice, but his history of secrecy and infidelity is quite the tale.

S19E17: No Tell Lover | David Letterman

Content warning: Discussion of suicide

Late night television’s David Letterman has been a fixture in American households since the early 80s. His wry wit, top ten lists, and willingness to take his show into unexpected directions, all for laughs, made him a comedy legend, but the man himself has often been beset by insecurity. One friend describes his “demonically low self-esteem,” and perhaps that is why he has so often strayed into infidelity in his famously private personal life. Stacie has the details.

Want early, ad-free episodes, bonus divorces, limited series, Zoom hangouts, and more? Join us at patreon.com/trashydivorces!

Sponsors

This episode is brought to you by BetterHelp. Visit Betterhelp.com/trashy and get 10% off your first month when you sign up at the link!

Download Lily’s Garden for free today on iOS and Andriod and discover how many mysteries and romance one garden can hold!

To advertise on our podcast, please reach out to sales@advertisecast.com or visit https://www.advertisecast.com/TrashyDivorces.

Stacie’s Receipts

Letterman: The Last Giant of Late Night, by Jason Zinoman (Amazon link)

David Letterman Through the Years: Late-Night Host, More (usmagazine.com)

Sex Scandal Sheds Light on David Letterman’s Love Life – Good Morning America (goodmorningamerica.com)

Big Trouble at 11:35 | Vanity Fair (vanityfair.com)

David Letterman Talks Failed Marriage, Giving Up Alcohol With Jane Pauley | Entertainment Tonight (etonline.com)

David Letterman’s ex-writer, ex-girlfriend zings Dave | EW.com (ew.com)

Ten Years Ago, I Called Out David Letterman. This Month, We Sat Down to Talk. | Vanity Fair (vanityfair.com)

David Letterman reveals he feels ‘most secure’ when he’s with his son (today.com)

David Letterman jokes about son’s ‘devastating’ move to college | Fox News (foxnews.com)

LETTERMAN STALKER MARGARET MARY RAY DIES – The Washington Post (washingtonpost.com)

Letterman on Letterman: 11 Key Quotes – The New York Times (archive.nytimes.com)

David Letterman secretly married | Reuters (reuters.com)

David Letterman at Peace – Rolling Stone (rollingstone.com)

David Letterman’s Revolutionary Comedy | The New Yorker (newyorker.com)

David Letterman’s mom, who became unlikely star, dies at 95 (jacksonville.com)

The Letterman scandal: A timeline | The Week (theweek.com)

Behind the Jokes, a Life Of Pain and Delusion; For Letterman Stalker, Mental Illness Was Family Curse and Scarring Legacy – The New York Times (nytimes.com)

David Letterman to debut documentary at Ball State University (fox59.com)

1 thought on “S19E17: No Tell Lover | David Letterman

  1. Great great show on David Letterman. Despite his many shortcomings he’s one of my favorite characters. I must admit during his distasteful time I was very disappointed in him but I’m so glad he redeemed himself. He really is a talented guy and I miss his show so much. He and Regis were such a pair and they touched my heart.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *